for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

14 July 2007 - 23:50

the Order of the Phoenix

I'd never read any of the Harry Potter books.

Until this one.

I suspect I won't ever read another.

And technically, I didn't read all of this one, either. Less than halfway through it became obvious where Rowling was taking us, and I started reading from the end. First the last chapter, then the next to the last, then the one before that...

Until it got back to the predictable, annoying, boring parts.

Then I quit.

Hate to say it, after that experience, if I had to pick one word to describe the Harry Potter books it would not be "magical", or "enchanting", or "enthralling", or anything like that.

It would be "tedious".

I mean, it was just plain a chore to read. You could see exactly where everything was going, but she took 300, nay... 400, words to get where 20 could have taken you.

So I was dreading this film.

And very nearly told the wife to go without me, just to save a little money, and to save me the aggravation of sitting through such tedium. I hate sitting through films that take forever to get you where you already know you're going. But eldest son and girlfriend are off on a camping trip here:

(They're hoping to find the haunted woods youngest son's friend told them about. Interesting that this soldier is willing to walk into Fallujah, but he won't walk into these woods by himself.)

So they're not available to accompany the wife.

I had to go.

And we'll be going again. Soon.

Yeah. It was good. The detailed story line Joanna plodded through for more than half the book?

Gone.

Well, not actually gone. But taken care of rather quickly with just a few chosen scenes. I guess a picture really is worth a thousand words. Or two.

It was great.

So all we are left with is the story itself. Which is, yes, predictable. But moves quickly, enjoyably from one point to another. I had a good time, even knowing what was coming ahead. And yes, got teary-eyed more than once.

And am looking forward to seeing it again. And yes, we will buy the DVD when it comes out. And not just because we'll want a complete set.

But I promise you...

I will never again read one of the books.

At least... not until after I've seen the movie.

( 4 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home