for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

13 July 2007 - 00:26

crossing guard

I was coming from my previous entry, when I saw her standing alongside the street.

A doe.

Now, this is no great surprise. The deer cross this part of the main drag through town all the time. It is apparently the perfect avenue from the weedy fields along the railroad tracks into the fields between the auto junkyard and the county fairgrounds.

The wife watched a fawn try to cross here last winter.

And not make it.

Now, this doe has probably crossed this street more times than I have driven it. She's probably an old hand at it.

But this was the end of the lunch rush hour.

And as I watched, having circled back through the carlot, she turned back from heavy traffic several times.

It occurred to me, "If you stay here, you're probably going to get to watch her die."

I didn't like that.

And then I noticed the turning lane. The middle lane of this five-lane street, which has no traffic other than vehicles making a turn to one side or the other.

And dashed across traffic into it.

And parked. With my emergency lights flashing.

And traffic slowed. One lady even stopped.

And as if she were expecting it, the doe politely and safely trotted across the road in front of me.

And went on with her day.

As did I.

( 5 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home