for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

11 June 2007 - 09:42

online russian

I had an entry to write last night, but it never got written, and now I've forgotten it.

It didn't get written because youngest son needed this machine for last minute emails and preparations for his trip to summer university in Russia. And I got him set up with a Flickr account so he doesn't have to worry about how many pictures he can take. As long as he can download 'em, he can keep taking 'em.

Wife thinks this will probably be wasted effort. Sent the boy to summer camp with a camera, and he came home with two (two, mind you) pictures. Both from the day he left, if I remember correctly.

He's had his digital Canon for two weeks now, and has a total of 49 pictures to his credit.

Half of those we took.

I've seen pictures of where he's heading. It's a pretty place. There damn well better be hundreds and hundreds of pictures posted in the next two months!

Aaanyway, we were wandering through existing Flickr images of his new hometown. And I was testing his Russian. Maybe not too fast, but he could read the signs. Even most the graffiti.

Maybe he'll survive.

Certainly better than the one gal in his group who has taken no Russian at all, yet.

He was really quick with one bright sign on a street view. I was struggling through my decades-old memory of the Cyrillic alphabet, trying to pronounce the word out loud.

Maaach...

"McDonald's!" he announced quickly.

Wow. I was impressed.

"I saw the gold arches," he explained.

Ahh. The international language of commercial logos.

He'll be fine, I guess.

Besides a major, sleep-losing panic about lost line transect data that was actually never lost, I spent part of my weekend going through the hundreds and hundreds (literally) images I took on our line transect survey on the 2nd.

Most of these are crap. You can't take pictures while you're actually flying the survey. (Well, you shouldn't... you're supposed to keep your eyes unmoving on the flight line. But I couldn't resist a couple shots when our transect took us directly over Independence Rock. Not likely to be any pronghorn that close to the tourists anyway.)

So almost all my shots were on the ferry time to and from our count area.

And on the brief turns in between transects. But most of those are just point the camera out the window and click, and hope you get something.

On one of those turns, I got this...

I like it.

( 4 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home