for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

01 November 2006 - 23:58

worthless day

Not a wasted day, mind you, which would imply absolutely nothing was accomplished. But yeah, what was done was pretty much worthless.

Certainly not worth me sitting alongside a highway for ten hours. Waiting for dead elk to come by, on this the opening day for 75 elk hunters.

Which never did. Not a one.

In fact, in those ten hours, I only talked to four hunters. One of which had already decided not to go afield.

A second was coming back to town for a snowmachine. Yes, the snow from last Tuesday was still too deep for even a 4-wheeler along the Divide.

Problem was, there are no elk in the place he's trying to reach with his machines.

I know this because we flew for our collared elk yesterday, and that country is all solid snow. The elk are too smart to hang around there.

But I can't tell him this. Because it is illegal in our state to use an aircraft to spot game for hunters. Even for folks in our outfit.

So, I suspect he had a cold snowmachine ride for nothing.

Otherwise, I:

Visited with two ranchers. Good, pleasant visits. Even if each was snug in his truck, and I was standing in the harsh, 30-degree wind (it was 30 degrees all day). I was dressed for it.

Helped a lost trucker turn around and find the tire shop he was looking for.

Relayed one violation report to a game warden.

Finished two Sudoku puzzles, and one crossword.

Decided where my votes will go this year (absentee, for I think the first time).

Consumed one Hallowe'en cupcake, and three cookies.

Finally read one article in one of the dozen or so magazines (Smithsonian) I have been hauling around to every check station this fall.

Took pictures of cold heelers.

In desperation, I started taking shots of the jets flying overhead.

It was during this idle amusement that I noticed the web of contrails overhead.

And the apparent dance of the planes making them.

I came to realize, the only clouds in the sky were man-made. Not one natural accumulation of water condensate. So, a couple shots of an artificial sunset:

Yeah, I know. You're just as bored as the heeler sisters.

So was I.

But it was cool to look up, and realize the people in this jet...

had, just that instant, entered Night.

( 7 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home