for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

08 September 2006 - 22:51

kneeling in the moonlight

I'd planned this shot hours in advance. When we headed north through the canyon Wednesday afternoon, it occurred to me the moon would probably be rising above the river when we were returning from the evening's pronghorn classification route. Even had a good idea of where I would need to park.

But I hadn't planned on what I would spook off the highway as I rounded the curve early that night, and prepared to pull over at my selected spot. I was just too focused on getting the shot before the clouds swallowed the moon again. I had taken several shots of the moon and river, including this one

before the precariousness of my position struck me:

"Grouse, you're kneeling down low next to a guardrail on a moonlit night, knowing full well there's a mountain lion on the other side of this narrow highway..."

I stopped to check it's tracks by the road this morning. No, it wasn't a huge cat. But not a little one, either.

And no, I didn't follow them up the cliff to see if the lion had stopped to stare down at the silly human on its knees with its back turned.

( 8 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home