for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

23 March 2004 - 22:06

leks and lichen

I've been working leks in the gas patch so far this season. Because that's where the snow melted off first, and the work crews kept the roads open. And because that's where it's most vital to get good records.

It has been depressing. Two of the strutting grounds (That's what a "lek" is, Doug.) so far had gas wells slapped down practically on top of them in the past year. Most have drilling rigs operating within a couple miles, keeping the noise level up. I'm surprised any birds showed up at all.

One had a pipeline run right through the clearing in the sagebrush that the grouse use. That's not supposed to happen. Leks are supposed to get a quarter-mile buffer, but there's no such consideration on private land. There, anything goes. But to be honest, a few of the grouse seemed to like the new strip of bare dirt.

Believe it or not, this lek I checked today is actually faring better than most of its neighbors.

But judging by all the well sites flagged and waiting for a drilling rig nearby, it is only a matter of time.

On a more cheerful note, I got a reminder of how wonderful elk look when they're healthy.

But speaking of which, the heeler sisters and I took a tour through part of the winter range on the way home today. Finding and logging more losses to the lichen poisoning episode with the elk. And I cast the shadow of a grim reaper yet again.

I understand the solution to our elk dying mystery has made front pages across the country. It certainly made front page of our two local papers. I even got my picture on the front page of one.

Okay, okay, so it's only my hand. It's still me, and it's still Page 1. Best of all, it's my photo credit.

My first ever.

( 6 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home