for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

22 April 2006 - 22:33

one less

She was restrained when I first saw her. Wrapped in a blanket, bound tightly with several wraps of duct tape.

Her feet were bound with duct tape, too.

First thing I noticed as we pulled her from the vehicle was her labored breathing. An unnatural wheezing. And I saw there was duct tape around her neck, too. Keeping her from escaping out the top of her blanket cocoon. But the tape had rolled, and was now a rigid cord, strangling her. I quickly pulled out my leatherman, selected the first blade that came up, and cut the tape.

The law enforcement officer helping me was stunned when he saw me lay my bare hand gently against her cheek, holding her head steady as I carefully peeled the tape off her neck.

Apparently she had bit two of the people who bound her up such. But towards me, she showed no hostility. With little more effort we had her feet freed, slid her out of the blanket, and I lay her gently into the large box. Then it was into the cab of the truck. Completely filling the passenger side, and she and I hit the highway.

At milepost 252 I heard her shifting around inside. Nothing frantic, just a vigorous rustling. As we neared the windmill farm around milepost 270, she started twittering. That gentle, fragile chatter so unexpected, but natural for her species.

It's okay. You're gonna be alright.

And the box was quiet.

At milepost 290 I pull into the parking lot of the convenience store for the pre-arranged rendezvous. Have no idea who I am supposed to meet, but the woman who immediately exits a minivan is a good clue. Two young women quickly bail out after her as I pull up alongside. The woman smiling, all three eager to see my passenger. I set the box down beside the truck.

The rehabilitator, slipping on her welding gloves, asks how she was. "Did she fight very much?"

Apparently when they first got her, but not with me.

All was quiet as I unfolded the flaps at the top of the box. And I knew.

Knew before I looked in, and saw her head twisted down under her wing. Before I reached in and touched her still warm, lifeless neck.

The world now had one less bald eagle.

( 2 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home