for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

21 July 2004 - 23:44

coup again

I had actually managed to get out of town a little early. So when I spotted the snake on the highway at milepost 10, I had plenty of time to back up and see exactly what it was and record the location with the GPS.

As I had guessed by the colour, it was a rattlesnake. Flat on the asphalt in the southbound lane, the tail end mashed and bloody. While it no longer makes any difference to them, I am uncomfortable leaving dead animals on the highway to be repeatedly thumped and smashed down into pancakes.

So, I nudged the back end of the carcass, where the dried blood had it stuck to the highway, with my toe and knocked it loose.

Only to find the rattler was not dead.

And not having a good day. Understandably in a bad, pained mood.

Now, since the wife and I figured out my narrow western boots were what was causing my big toe to ache, I've been wearing new, wide, loose tennis shoes as much as possible.

Like today, when en route to a forum on chronic wasting disease.

So, I just poked a pissed off rattlesnake with my low, thin, cloth shoe.

Yeah, I had had way too few hours of sleep for such a long morning drive, but oddly enough, I was wide awake the rest of the way.

( 3 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home