for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

04 July 2004 - 14:51

Independence Day

On this, our 228th anniversary of Independence, I feel like I should have some great words to say.

I don't.

All the more disturbing when members of my armed forces are overseas risking their lives, losing their lives, for my well being.

And all I can say is, well, thanks.

There is a small flag flying off our porch right now. A flag from this Nation's 200th anniversary, with 13 stars arranged in a circle on a field of blue, a constellation that was new two centuries ago. If hundreds of thousands, no millions, of my fellow Americans hadn't risked their lives in revolution and service over the past 228 years, I would not have the freedom to fly that flag.

So, thank you.

This morning I read several editorials in our Sunday paper, a couple of which were less than supportive of my government's recent actions. In general, positions I support. A freedom that I have been granted by others, not claimed for myself, and for that I say thank you.

Right now I am listening to a collection of songs by Celtic artists, without any central theme except that the artists claim the label "Celtic". There are probably 50 cds in the two stacks at my left, some of which would be forbidden if certain religious groups had their way. But I live in the United States of America, where that kind of censorship is not allowed.

And for this, I say thank you.

I just spent a fair number of minutes wasting time on an online site to create this caricature of myself, guided there by a regular read of mine.

Again, a freedom I take for granted, even for silliness, but others on this planet may not have.

So, thank you.

Almost two years ago we traveled, without anyone's permission or papers, to another part of the planet to visit family and attend a local festival. A place where I snapped this appropriate shot of a fellow American enjoying freedom, both of movement and expression.

So for both their freedom of movement, and my own, I say thank you.

Now, this is not Memorial Day. And perhaps these things should have been said on that holiday set aside for thanking the citizens who have served in our armed forces. But as today I blithely enjoy the freedoms that I have had all my life, I just wanted to say this one more time.

Thank you.

( 1 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home