for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

11 November 2003 - 02:21

the old Federal Office Building

I was a little early, but still late.

In true government style, the training session the wife was attending in Capitol City let out early for lunch. Because they knew the crowds that arise in the downtown restaurants around noon. So although I got to our pre-arranged pickup point at least ten minutes early, the wife had been waiting there nearly twenty minutes. And had less than an hour left for lunch.

But we made it into the restaurant she wanted, the Twin Dragons. Buffet was actually a little mediocre, certainly less than we remembered or expected. And had to go to the register to get our ticket, since we didn't have time to sit and savor the green tea with jasmine.

After returning her to her training, it was time for me to hit the Capitol, and start hunting.

Hunting benchmarks.

First was the golden dome on top of the Capitol itself, just a few blocks up the street. And then a brass disk cemented into its top step. Feeling just a little awkward wandering around this impressive building in jeans and chambrais shirt with camera, amongst all those suits with attache cases.

Next benchmark was just a couple blocks away. A shallow hole, drilled at a specific spot in the granite sill of a basement window of the Federal Office Building.

Should be easy to find. But gotta be careful around Federal Buildings these days. Folks tend to be a little paranoid around government buildings, even out here in the West.

So I find the building easy enough. Four stories tall, wide, an austere, Gotham type place. Locate the basement window at the southwest corner.

And the sill is covered with fitzers. Prickly old Juniperus communis bushes, designed to discourage intrusion. And all the basement windows are covered with bars, giving the place a definite penitentiary feel.

Best ask, before wandering around outside.

Inside the building is nothing but office doors, with no labels, and an elevator. Didn't even see a directory on the wall. Apparently, if you're coming here, you're already supposed to know where you are going.

As I abandon hope and head out, I meet a woman coming in, with all the look of an office worker coming back from lunch.

Which she is.

Excuse me, but I have an unusual request... I explain I'm involved in an internet game, like a scavenger hunt, and I'm looking for benchmarks. And there's supposed to be one on the wall of this building.

Does she know who I need to talk to to get permission to look?

No, but we can ask at the Marshall's office, on the second floor.

Well, now. That makes sense. When Tony got that job, I remember reading his office would be responsible for security at federal buildings in the state.

Being a non-suit, I get the feeling this woman is actually leading me into a security trap as we ride the old elevator up the single floor. And even more so when we enter the Marshall's Office, which has a young woman behind counter-to-ceiling bullet-proof (I assume) glass, with a crappy microphone and a pass-through trough for papers like a bank teller window.

So I explain again about my unusual request, about being on an internet scavenger hunt. Which brings another cute young woman out of the side office (but still behind the glass) to see what oddity this Monday afternoon has wrought.

They agree. I need to talk to the GSA security folks at the new Federal Building, a block over.

So off I go. Got too much invested in this silly drillhole in granite to quit now. But as I leave, I ask if Tony's in. They're surprised, by either my knowledge or my familiarity, but no, he's out today.

Well, yeah. He's probably back home hunting deer or elk in my country, while I'm here hunting benchmarks at his office building.

The new Federal Building is sleek, massive and shiny. With tinted glass, so you can't see what you're getting into until you're in it. So I follow a suit in. Immediately after the double doors, we are met with a security metal detector, and two unfriendly, yet unhostile, looking gentlemen in suits. The young man in front of me empties his pockets by habit, hands over the few contents, walks through, gathers his wares, and continues on. Obviously does this several times a day.

I think about the contents of my pockets. Let's see now, we got two pocket knives in there (one sharp, one dull (on purpose)), nail clippers, a meter tape, coin purse, Sacagawea dollar, keys, wallet, gas key, comb... and yeah, the leatherman on the belt. Not to mention the chrome pen.

This could take a while.

So I lean across the machine, and explain to the nearest federal agent... I have a kind of unusual request to make. You see, I'm playing an internet game, kind of like a scavenger hunt, where we collect er.. find, benchmarks...

You know, the little brass disks surveyors use?

And there's supposed to be one on the old Federal Building across the way, and the gals over there thought it best if I check with you guys here before crawling through the shrubs by their windows...

As I explain all this, camera in hand, the second agent has leaned in close, giving me that "Is this guy dangerous?" look.

When I'm done, they briefly consult, and agree they need to ask their supervisor. And agent number two heads into the door in the back granite wall, while I wait, out of the way, as agent number one passes more folks inside, checking the driver's licenses of a few.

Their supervisor turns out to be a slightly heavyset man, in ordinary clothes. Looks like the floor manager of a hardware department.

So I explain yet again. You see, I'm playing this internet game, which is kind of like a scavenger hunt...

Ending with the point that, if this is a hassle, it's no big deal. I got other benchmarks to look for.

He looks at the other two, and announces that they better check with Mister Gobbledygook. And reenters the door in granite, leaving agent number one to pass more federal workers, and agent number two to watch me.

I in my desert beaten boots, denim jeans, denim jacket and wind-tossed hair catch more than a few stares from folks in suits arriving back from lunch. Standing there in the corner, under an agent's eye like they caught me with an Iraqi passport.

The hardware manager comes back out, and announces loudly, across the mausoleum lobby, "He says it's okay."

"But you know, if we let him do this, you're going to get 42 calls this afternoon from concerned citizens."

He's leaving it up to the agent guys.

"Yeah, go ahead and let him. It'll do us good," agent number one decides.

So, I thank them. And start to head out. As an afterthought, I turn and ask, "You guys want to see an ID or anything, first?"

Agent number one agrees, yeah, they should. Just to say they did, if nothing else. I hand the camera to the hardware manager and start digging for the wallet. The agent mutters my name aloud, to help remember, after reading my driver's license. Then, as I turn again, hardware manager reaches for my shoulder, to have another look at the ID.

"To know how to spell it," he says. I tell him my usual rejoinder of how to remember the last name, and he's appeased.

And off I go, to trespass on a secure federal building, with a clean conscience. Having no doubt these gentlemen have decided to use me as a test of their security protocols.

I cross the manicured lawn, and approach the barred window like I have every right to be there. Push the prickly shrubs aside, and search the sill.

It's not granite. Some softer stone. And there's no drill hole. I stand there and check my paper with the benchmark description. Yep, right window. I crawl through from another side, and sweep the stonework bare of windblown dirt and dried, piercing needles. Checking both sides, as well as the top.

No drillhole.

Well, craaaap.

Somewhen since the 1930s, someone has managed to remodel this part of the building. And the ancient mark is gone.

Craaap.

But this has actually been kinda fun, so I hoof it on over to the new Federal Building again, entering this time as if I were an old hand. And let agent number one know I had failed, but that I was done with their building. And thanking him for their trouble.

Didn't think to ask if they got any calls.

Once outside again, I check my printout for the next closest benchmark to hunt.

It's just to the left of the top step of the main entrance.

Of the old Federal Office Building...

( 3 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home