for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

07 September 2001 - 08:13

extended decision

I have got no time for catching up with diaries or diary entries today, but here I am.

I have to make a decision this morning, one I have been putting off for several weeks.

One that will affect me almost daily for the next four years.

Extended cab, or not?

I'm due for a new truck for work. This one has 74,291 miles on it right now. I suspect I'll make the 75,000 trade-in criterion before December.

We have a list of options the outfit will buy.

Ordinary half-tons are out. Broke the frames on the last three. Dealers tell me they make these for the California highway market. They aren't supposed to go off asphalt.

Can get a regular 3/4-ton. Sturdy, with full-sized box, but rough riding SOBs. Kidney killers.

Or I can opt for the heavy-duty 1/2-ton, which is newly offered in the 2002 models (Ford, only).

The same thing I'm driving now, except they call it "heavy duty 1/2-ton" rather than "light-duty 3/4-ton". Suspect some marketing agent noticed that macho men never buy a "light-duty" anything.

But the kicker is, if I opt for the 1/2-ton, the outfit will allow me to get an extended cab.

That is heaven for the wardens, who are always trying to acquire the best of everything (and a spare).

Three other folks in our region are due for new trucks, and they're all going for the extended cab heavy-duty 1/2-tons.

But do I need the extended cab?

Yes, it's great for throwing your gear in. Be nice to have the sleeping bag and emergency winter clothes in a clean, warm cab instead of the dirty, dusty cold toolbox.

The heelers would love the extra room.

Extended cab would have much better trade-in value in four years. John Q. Citizen almost always wants extended cabs.

But since our Republican governor won't let us take anyone with us (liability issues), what good are the extra seats?

And I lose a foot and a half of bed space, which means the check station signs won't fit flat.

And I'll have to make two long trips when setting up wing barrels, instead of hauling them all at one time and making a big (400-mile) loop.

Paperwork has to be in to the boss this am.

I have to decide soon.

Oh yes, and do I want automatic or 5-speed standard?

Better trade-in value with automatic. But can I get through the dry sand and wet mud with an automatic? Others do.

Bye. I'm off to the Ford dealership to look at trucks.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home